En Route to Becoming a Morning Person

The past week was nothing but excruciating for me since I had to wake up at 5AM for work, prepare a light breakfast and travel from one city to another for big client dry runs and demos. I found myself waking up at 4:59AM on a Saturday and berated myself for a few minutes while lying in bed for not being able to get back to sleep. I’m sure that the other anemic folks can relate.

It’s not that I hate waking up in the morning. I actually love having a savory breakfast and a freshly brewed cup of coffee. It’s just that for the past 5 years, my body just got used to staying up late for work. The past week then was a blessing for me as I slowly adjusted to a new, exciting routine. I took this opportunity then, to make a more conscious effort and become a morning person.

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”, the core philosophy of the book, The Alchemist by renowned author, Paolo Coelho, was my realization as I came across two inspiring materials this weekend. Both pushed me towards my decision and goal of  becoming a morning person. I get amused every time I realize that these coincidences strongly relate to what I want to happen to my life. All it takes for me to do is again, decide.

Here’s the first inspiration I came across with. I’ve been checking out Matthew Hussey‘s YouTube posts for some time now as he doesn’t sugar coat his tips.

“One day you’ll be dead,” appealed the most to my morbid alter ego. I remember one of my students telling me, “I sometimes don’t want to sleep. I want to stay awake as much as possible and do as many things like, doing yoga at 3 in the morning.” Come to think of it, if you were to compare all the things done by an early riser with a person who sleeps for long hours, the former would absolutely outdo the latter.

The other inspiration, I read from Philippine Star‘s Sunday article by Celine Lopez. She too is transitioning to waking up earlier. I too feel that when I stay up late, I tend to wander and drift a lot. I would usually catch myself deep in my thoughts. This though isn’t totally a no-no, but if you end-up like good ol’ Walter Mitty, you’ll end up just dreaming and not accomplishing anything.

Here’s a cup of coffee and a humble breakfast I made yesterday morning, at 5am. I’d like to share it with everybody who have decided to take the road that early birds and morning persons walk on. It might be a struggle at first but I wish us to take heart and have a more vivacious personality and contagious energy, as we get a step closer to enjoying early morning routines.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

Carla Runs the World

Running, Travel, Foreign Service, Life

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

The Professional Heckler

"The problem with political jokes is they get elected.**"

Losing It

One woman's mission to lose the weight for good.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

My Life Annotated

Blogging about things big and small, MLA-style

Blogilates

solving the world's toughest puzzle: myself

Break My Style

solving the world's toughest puzzle: myself

Purpose Fairy

Ideas and suggestions about life

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

